John Cain Arena is a proud host venue of the Australian Open and commonly referred to as the 'People's Court'.

The Melbourne Park Precinct was officially opened in 1988 when the Australian Open was re-located from Kooyong, with Steffi Graf and Mats Wilander the inaugural singles champions at Melbourne Park.

Previously known as 'Flinders Park' or the 'National Tennis Centre', Melbourne Park's Centre Court was renamed Rod Laver Arena in 2000, in recognition of Rod Laver's remarkable career and contribution to the sport of tennis. Laver achieved the calendar Grand Slam twice and cemented himself as Australia's greatest male tennis champion.

The Australian Open, one of only four annual Grand Slams around the world, has been staged at Melbourne Park every year since 1988.